Top 5 books of 2009

If there is one thing I love is lists. So I couldn’t pass up the chance to make a list of my favourite books of 2009. Here they are:

5. The pursuit of love by Nancy Mitford

I really enjoyed Nancy Mitford’s writing and found the story very funny and engaging. With a heavy dose of dry wit, sarcasm and well… britishness this book is just a gorgeous picture of a world that is sadly long gone…
4. East of Eden by John Steinbeck
A great book, with a harsh plot and detailed characters. East of Eden deals with difficult subjects and it often made me uncomfortable, but the writing is superior and the story stayed with me for a long time.
3. The Hobbit by J.R.R.Tolkien
This was a very fun and exciting book to read, you can trust Tolkien for an epic adventure full of dragons and trolls and elves… It may not be as “larger than life” as The Lord of the Rings, but The Hobbit is a lovely story of the perilous journey of a simple hobbit who ends up discovering his inner bravery and sense of adventure and I think everyone should read it.
2. The Elegance of the Hedgehog
This one is a strange book. You can probably tell just from the title. The two narrators are very strange individuals and it seems even stranger that they can be found in the same book. And yet, this book is great. The language is beautiful and there are plenty of thought-provoking ideas. I cried in the end. I loved it.
1. Right Ho, Jeeves
Does it really come as a surprise to anyone that my favourite book of the year is a P.G. Wodehouse book? Honestly, it could be any of the Wodehouse books I read in 2009, but I picked this one because I distinctly remember crying actual tears from laughing so hard while reading it. It is just perfect! Sunny, warm, funny story, ridiculous characters, memorable quotes and of course the sage Jeeves who always saves the day. I cannot think of anything better!
4 thoughts on “Top 5 books of 2009

  1. Dominique says:

    Great list! Of it I've only read The Elegance of the Hedgehog. East of Eden and The Pursuit of Love are on my tbr list, I really should get around to reading them!

  2. Paige says:

    Good list! Unfortunately I've only read The Hobbit (and I'm not thinking about rereading it now), but I've been meaning to read The Elegance of the Hedgehog and some Wodehouse.

Leave a comment

