Changes…

Ok, so this turned out to be a very different post than the one I had in mind to write because the last couple of days have been surreal! Last year I was planning on attending grad school in the states. Then I wasn’t. Then I was again. Then random shitty things happened and I couldn’t. Then I cried. Then I gave up. Then I was going to study for a MSc at my university in Athens, even though I didn’t really want to. Then I thought I was too late for that. Then I had an inspired thought. Then, almost magically and very very fast, things happened. Then I hyperventilated.

Now, I am trying to wrap my head around the fact that in two days (!) I shall be flying to London and will be starting a masters in Theoretical Physics on Monday. Monday. As in three days from now. I’m feeling a panic attack approaching which would be very inconvenient since I don’t have time to waste. Remember on the Gilmore girls finale when Rory got that job following Obama on his campaign and she literary had three days to get ready? That’s exactly how things happened to me! Obviously I won’t be travelling around the country, but 24 hours ago I was playing The Sims 3 not knowing what was coming.

Of course I made a list, originally a foot long, but I really covered some ground today so tomorrow I basically have to pack (not a mean feat) and say goodbye to a few people. This may be silly, but among the myriads of concerns and worries I have for this new beginning is the fact that I won’t be taking any of my books with me. Obviously, clothes and shoes have priority and then if I have space I should probably pack some of my physics books. And so I will be really homeless, not only because I haven’t found a place to stay yet but because I won’t have that comforting feeling having my books around me offers…

Anyway, I guess I just wanted to let you guys know I won’t be posting much at least for the coming week. I have lots of book reviews to catch up on but I’m waiting for the amazon conduit to be fixed and then I’ll also have quite a lot to say for my new life, so, yeah, stay tuned!

6 thoughts on “Changes…

  1. Michelle says:

    How exciting! Good luck moving to London and starting your Masters degree. I'm glad everything worked out for you – it always done but it's hard to remember that when life isn't going your way.

  2. Carmen says:

    Oh, exciting!! Good luck tomorrow! And London is a great place! I loved it when I was there. And like Bina said, it IS the place to buy books. :)I hope everything goes smoothly for a change. And good luck finding a new home!

Leave a comment

