Books read – August

Ok I’ll admit it, I have an addiction problem. I can’t seem to stop reading Jeeves and Wooster novels. These are the books I read in August:

  • Her Ladyship’s guide to modern manners by Lucy Gray
  • The code of the Woosters by P.G. Wodehouse
  • Joy in the morning by P.G. Wodehouse
  • The mating season by P.G. Wodehouse

The code of the Woosters was my airplane book because I felt it would put me in a ‘british’ mood for my trip to London. It was as always a hilarious, incredibly written story and it made the 4,5 hours flight seem much shorter.

I picked Her Ladyship’s guide to modern manners at Buckingham Palace’s gift shop after our tour of the state rooms (which was fantastic, the audio guides offer really detailed information). I thought it would be a fun read, you know with all the savoir vivre rules telling you how to sit, speak, eat etc. However, I failed to take into account the modern part of the title. This book does not tell men which hand to use to raise their top hat when greeting a lady, instead there are chapters about emails, travelling by public transit and dinner parties. So it wasn’t funny, but it was still informative and wasy to read. (Plus, the cover is this gorgeous purple colour…)

I then returned to Wodehouse and remained in the sunny world he created till the end of the month. It is seriously amazing how warm and fuzzy these novels make you feel. No matter how shitty things may be, Bertie can surely make you forget about your problems and just laugh!

2 thoughts on “Books read – August

  1. Christa says:

    Which is the first Jeeves and Wooster novel? Or if you were to recommend one to read first which one would you recommend?? I've been wanting to read some Wodehouse for awhile and I just don't know what to read first!

Leave a comment

