Books read – July

All right, here are the books I read in July:

– Right Ho, Jeeves by P.G. Wodehouse

– Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

– How to travel with a salmon & other essays by Umberto Eco

Let me start from the bottom. My good friend M recommended How to travel with a salmon claiming it was funny and strange. Having read The name of the rose and Foucault’s pendulum I was a little hesitant because Umberto Eco can be a bit um, exhausting. But, M was right. This collection of essays is very different from his novels. Each essay is very short, silly and very entertaining. I think my favorites are “How to eat on the aeroplane” and “How to use the damn coffeemaker”. Unfortunately, I read the Greek translation so I can’t post any quotes…

I had been missing that “Harry Potter feeling” lately and I really wanted to reread the whole series. But I also wanted to catch the new movie so I just picked up Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. I enjoyed reading it again (for the third time) and now I really want to try and squeeze Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows in my August reading…

I started reading Right Ho, Jeeves immediately after I finished Thank you, Jeeves which I loved. Not only did it not disappoint, I think this one is even better! I am constantly amazed how this author uses the English language and creates something so perfect and unique. Even the names he chooses for the characters are brilliant. I mean, can you think of a more silly name than Pongo Twistleton? Right Ho, Jeeves is very very funny and it revolves around another complicated situation for Bertie which only the brilliant Jeeves can untangle. Poor Bertie is always eager to help, if only to prove he can do what Jeeves does, and he always has the best intentions, but most of the times he ends up having to listen to something like this:

‘Attila,’ she said at length. ‘That’s the name. Attila the Hun… I was trying to think who you reminded me of. Somebody who went about strewing ruin and desolation and breaking up homes which, until he came along, had been happy and peaceful. Attila is the man… To look at you, one would think you were just an ordinary sort of amiable idiot – certifiable, perhaps, but quite harmless. Yet, in reality, you are a worse scourge than the Black Death. I tell you, Bertie, when I contemplate you I seem to come up against all the underlying sorrow and horror of life with such a thud that I feel as if I had walked into a lamp post.’

If you haven’t already read a Jeeves and Wooster novel you should really give it a try and I promise you’ll love it!

Could not resist posting some of my favorite Bertie-isms:

“In this life, you can choose between two courses. You can either shut yourself up in a country house and stare into tanks, or you can be a dasher with the sex. You can’t do both.”

“But we Woosters are men of tact and have a nice sense of the obligations of a host. We do not tell old friends beneath our roof-tree that they are an offence to the eyesight.”

“There is enough sadness in life without having fellows like Gussie Fink-Nottle going on about in sea boots.”

This conversation was one of my favorites:

‘…It wouldn’t be a bad idea to give her a brief description of a typical home evening at your Lincolnshire residence, showing how you pace the meadows with a heavy tread.’

‘I generally sit indoors and listen to the wireless.’

‘No, you don’t. You pace the meadows with a heavy tread, wishing that you had someone to love you.’

2 thoughts on “Books read – July

Leave a comment

