Books read – April

I read three books in April:

– East of Eden by John Steinbeck

– Sex, Drugs and Cocoa Puffs by Chuck Klosterman

– Yes Man by Danny Wallace

The only one I haven’t talked about in a separate post is Sex, Drugs and Cocoa Puffs. The book is basically a collection of essays on various ‘low-culture’ topics and pop culture. Hm… I was kind of disappointed. For one thing, it was not nearly as funny as I thought it would be. It had a couple of ‘ha-ha’ moments but nothing much.

Most importantly reading this book really annoyed me at times… I had read in a review that you either love or hate the way Chuck Klosterman writes. Well, I didn’t exactly hate it, most of the time I didn’t care for it and on occasion I was frustrated with it. Most of the author’s conclusions come out of the blue and feel irrational. And I don’t think all the obscure opinions in this book are a product of his strange view of the world. It felt like he purposely stated the most ridiculous things just to cause a reaction, just to appear different and well… a bit cooky. To be fair, I did enjoy reading the essay about tribute bands, it was quite funny. But after the first 8 or 10 essays reading this book got really tiring and I just wanted it to be over.

Thankfully, as you can tell from their reviews the other two books of April were much, much better!

Leave a comment

