The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown

This was sitting on my local library’s new releases shelf the day I went to return War and Peace. Judging completely by its cover, I thought it was exactly what I needed: something light and fun and girly and to top it all off bookish!

Well, I was not disappointed. In fact I really liked this book, and I could tell I would from the very first few pages. The plot is not particularly original, three very different sisters find themselves returning to their parents house in the sleepy town they grew up in… What makes this book different is that this family is very literary, books and libraries and Shakespeare play a significant role in their life. I loved that they didn’t even own a TV and that half of the time they used quotes from Shakespeare’s plays when talking to one another. Even the title is a Shakespeare reference.

So, all in all, I really enjoyed reading The Weird Sisters. I think it was the ideal book to follow a big, heavy classic and I greatly enjoyed the bookishness of its characters.

Edit: Kristie and Michelle also reviewed this book, and guess what? They really liked it too!

8 thoughts on “The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown

  1. Lola says:

    Sounds sweet, I might have to check it out! I’m on a book-shopping ban though, I buy too many and there are so many on my shelf that i haven’t read yet so i’ve said to myself that until i finish reading ALL the new ones I have, no new ones for moi. Hopeless with the library too, just forget to return and end up with a massive fine!

    • bookworm says:

      Haha I tend to forget to return my library books too! I try to limit my book-buying but since I discovered a bookshop where every book costs £2 it’s been rather hopeless. I’ll have too buy a new bookcase soon.

    • bookworm says:

      I added a link to yours and Michelle’s reviews Kristie. And you are right, the fact that it’s all three sisters returning home made this book different, since the dynamics of their relationship play a significant role in the plot. A fact made more obvious by the use of first person plural in the narration which I forgot to mention… 🙂

  2. floocrada says:

    Тёплый пол и Тёплая крыша: Системы обогрева от производителя

    Компания «Тепломир» – производитель и поставщик электрических систем обогрева, под собственными зарегистрированными торговыми марками «Тепломир» и «SolarVilla».
    звоните по тел. 8 800 700 95 91
    Или скайп igindm
    http://www.teplomir.com

Leave a comment